Waldorf Education News                                                                    February/March 2019

The official enews of AWSNA

 

Dear Community,

 

In case you’ve missed it, we’ve officially launched our 100-year celebratory initiatives in North America with the commencement of a joint public relations campaign.  We hope you enjoy the new video brief, Seeding the Future, featured below. Additionally, our first Waldorf100 press release was distributed to close to 5000 continental sources and has generated attention in media outlets ranging from Yahoo Finance to Canadian Insider.  


To truly make this PR campaign a success, we are relying on the entire Waldorf community to help us spread the word.  So, please share Seeding the Future and the Waldorf100 press release broadly!

Thank you for being part of our movement.

 

 

Sincerely,

 

Beverly, Melanie and Stephanie, for AWSNA

 

News of Note

Seeding The Future - Video

Image

The world gets better one person and one action at a time. The video, "Seeding the Future," provides a glimpse into the principles of Waldorf education, an education that fosters concern for others, connection to the world, and the capacity to be in service to society.

Watch and Share the Video...

 

Waldorf 100 - Press Release

Image

On September 19, 2019, Waldorf education will proudly mark its 100 year anniversary! In celebration of Waldorf education's centennial, schools worldwide are engaging in social and environmental impact projects throughout 2019 and 2020.

Read and Share the Release...

 

Image

Waldorf Chronicles - What’s Your Story?

In celebration of Waldorf education’s 100 year anniversary, Waldorf schools and institutes across North America have begun to record and share their stories using the StoryCorps Archive, the largest collection of human voices ever gathered.

Click here to Read More...

Essentials In Education - AWSNA's blog

The School Culture and Curriculum Relationship

Image

Research shows that combining high-quality curriculum and a strong school culture leads to long-lasting academic excellence. 

 

A school culture in a Catholic school versus a Waldorf school, for example, may be quite different, just as curriculum in these schools is likely to differ. Are they both potentially high quality and how does research qualify and quantify something so diverse?  

 

Click here to Read More...

Working Holistically with Gender and Sexuality - upcoming Webinar

Image

Join us for this important webinar presented by Lisa Romero as a joint webinar with the Anthroposophical Society of America (ASA). Providing a healthy and socially constructive sex education is the responsibility not only of the primary caregivers, parents, and teachers, but also of the individuals in the wider community. 

 

March 14 at 8:30 pm AT | 7:30 pm ET | 6:30 pm CT | 5:30 pm MT | 4:30 pm PT | 1:30 pm Hawaii.    Click here to Register...

Education News 
For these and other news and articles, see www.WaldorfEducation.org

“The promotion of social, emotional, and academic learning is not a shifting educational fad; it is the substance of education itself.”


Students need time for quiet, reflection and focus. A new study shows how mindfulness in the classroom can reduce students' sense of stress and lengthen attention spans.

AWSNA Summer Conference 2019

Image

As the Waldorf100 celebrations begin, we are excited to launch the anniversary at the 2019 conference which will be held at the Waldorf School of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA.

 

The theme, Responsible Innovation: A Collaborative Approach to Educational Freedom, is related to our 4th principle. It is a timely theme as we look forward to the next 100 years of Waldorf education.

 

Registration is Open

Upcoming Events

Friday March 1
Learning To See the Animal - Talk & Workshop
Waldorf Institute of Southern California - Pasadena, CA

Saturday March 2
Play Reading: Steiner
Threefold Educational Center - Chestnut Ridge, NY

Sunday March 3
Play Reading: The Circle Widens - the Working of the Spirit
Threefold Educational Center - Chestnut Ridge, NY

Thursday March 7
Biodynamic Understanding of Trees
Biodynamic Association - Online Webinar

Thursday March 14
Advanced Seminar for Experienced Waldorf Teachers
Sound Circle Center - Freeland, WA

Thanks to our partners

© 2019  Association of Waldorf Schools of North America  |  All rights reserved

You are receiving this email because either you or your organization is a member of AWSNA,

or you opted-in to receive electronic communications on the website WaldorfEducation.org

 

Our mailing address is:

AWSNA

515 Kimbark #106  |  Longmont, CO 80501

(720) 204-5505  |  awsna@waldorfeducation.org

 

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Unsubscribe Link